Working Hours Monday - Friday 08:00-16:00
Toll Free 1800.899.900

Tapestry Design Prize for Architects


Join us for the virtual launch

Engaging architects to design specifically for contemporary tapestry, the Tapestry Design Prize for Architects is a unique international award that encourages innovation and visionary thinking. Since 2015 the prize has fostered exciting new creative dialogues between architects and tapestry weavers. From architectural students to globally recognized firms, the prize has received over 300 tapestry design entries. The initiative of architect and former ATW Board Chair, Peter Williams AM, the prize celebrates the rich historical connection between architectural space and tapestry design.

Previous Tapestry Design Prize for Architects sites include; the Pharos Wing, Museum of Old and New Art, Hobart (MONA) (2018); National Gallery of Australia, Canberra (2016) and the Australian Pavilion in the Giardini, Venice (2015). First prize winners include Pop Architecture + Hotham Street Ladies (2018), Justin Hill (2016), John Wardle Architects (2015) and Kristin Green Architects + Michelle Hamer (2015). Two Tapestry Design Prize for Architects winners have been woven by the Australian Tapestry Workshop. ‘Perspectives on a Flat Surface’ designed by John Wardle Architects was commissioned by Judith Neilson AM in 2016. Justin Hill’s design ‘22 Temenggong Road, Twilight’ was woven in 2018.

The TDPA 2021 is generously supported by Metal Manufactures Limited, Architecture Media, Creative Victoria and the City of Port Phillip.

Find out more

Pop Architecture + Hotham Street Ladies 'Chaos and Fertility'. Winner 2018 TDPA.

2018 PRIZE

WINNER: Pop Architecture and Hotham Street Ladies - 'Chaos and Fertility'

More information
’22 Temenggong Road, Twilight’ 2018, designed by Justin Hill, woven by Karlie Hawking, Sue Batten, Chris Cochius, Pamela Joyce, Leith Maguire, Sophie Morris & Cheryl Thornton, wool and cotton, 2.35 x 3.54m.


WINNER: Justin Hill - '22 Temenggong Road, Twilight'

More information


JOINT WINNER'S: John Wardle Architects & KGA Architecture (Kristin Green) & Michelle Hamer

More information