Working Hours Monday - Friday 08:00-16:00
Toll Free 1800.899.900

Book your class today

Learn to Weave with the Australian Tapestry Workshop

The ATW offers two levels of tapestry weaving class; 'Introduction to Tapestry Weaving' and 'Advanced Tapestry Weaving', which are taught by leading Australian tapestry weavers. To receive information on future classes, please subscribe to our eNews here.

Introduction to Tapestry Weaving at the ATW

Led by master-weavers, Introduction to Tapestry Weaving is an intensive two-day class where participants will learn the basic skills to produce simple tapestries on a small scale using the weft faced French Gobelin technique. You will learn how to warp a loom, weave simple shapes and lines and explore colour, pattern and texture using high-quality ATW dyed yarn in our light-filled studio in South Melbourne.

Introduction to Tapestry Weaving Online Course

Developed by master-weavers, our Introduction to Tapestry Weaving Online Course is a remote learning workshop in which participants will learn the basic skills to produce simple tapestries on a small scale using the weft faced French Gobelin technique. Through instructional videos, downloadable handouts and live teaching sessions you will learn how to warp a loom, weave simple shapes and lines and explore colour, pattern and texture using high-quality ATW dyed yarn from the comfort of your own home.

Advanced Tapestry Weaving at the ATW

Our three-day advanced classes are perfect for participants who have completed our 'Introduction to Tapestry Weaving' course, a similar alternative or advanced weavers who wish to improve their skills and learn new techniques. Each advanced class is uniquely developed by a master weaver to address a specific set of techniques, approaches to designing for tapestry or investigations into colour and interpretation. These classes provide dedicated time explore your tapestry practice while supported by a master weaver.

Advanced Tapestry Weaving Online Course

Developed by master-weavers, our Advanced Tapestry Weaving Online Course is a remote learning workshop in which participants will learn a variety of advanced weaving techniques on a small scale using the weft faced French Gobelin technique. Through instructional videos, downloadable handouts and live teaching sessions you will learn advanced techniques using high-quality ATW dyed yarn from the comfort of your own home. Advanced modules include: weaving a circle and curved shapes, hatching and half passing, colour mixing, texture with Sumac knot and translating designs into tapestry.

Book your class today

Sunday, July 18, 2021 to Sunday, August 1, 2021

Introduction to Tapestry Weaving Online Course

Tutor: Tim Gresham
SOLD OUT
Sunday, August 15, 2021 to Sunday, August 29, 2021

Advanced Tapestry Weaving Online Course

Tutors: Tim Gresham
WAITLIST
Saturday, August 21, 2021 to Sunday, August 22, 2021

Introduction to Tapestry Weaving at ATW

Tutor: Joy Smith
BOOK NOW
Wednesday, September 1, 2021 to Wednesday, September 15, 2021

Introduction to Tapestry Weaving Online Course

Tutor: Joy Smith
BOOK NOW
Saturday, September 18, 2021 to Sunday, September 19, 2021

Introduction to Tapestry Weaving at ATW

Tutor: Tim Gresham
BOOK NOW
Sunday, October 3, 2021 to Sunday, October 17, 2021

Advanced Tapestry Weaving Online Course

Tutors: Tim Gresham
BOOK NOW
Saturday, October 9, 2021 to Sunday, October 10, 2021

Introduction to Tapestry Weaving at ATW

Tutor: Amy Cornall
BOOK NOW
Sunday, October 31, 2021 to Sunday, November 14, 2021

Introduction to Tapestry Weaving Online Course

Tutor: Joy Smith
BOOK NOW
Wednesday, December 1, 2021 to Wednesday, December 15, 2021

Introduction to Tapestry Weaving Online Course

Tutor: Joy Smith
BOOK NOW
Saturday, December 4, 2021 to Sunday, December 5, 2021

Introduction to Tapestry Weaving at ATW

Tutor: Amy Cornall
BOOK NOW