Press Releases

National Tapestry Design Prize for Architects winners announced!


Many of Australia's leading architects gathered at the Australian Tapestry Workshop (ATW) in South Melbourne on Thursday for the announcement of the winners of the inaugural Tapestry Design Prize for Architects. The Prize was conceived by the Australian Tapestry Workshop to attract the engagement of architects and focus on the long relationship between architecture and tapestry.

It attracted 42 entries from Australian architectural practices and 12 entries were selected for the finalists' exhibition.

Minister for Creative Industries Martin Foley MP said: "The Australian Tapestry Workshop is internationally recognised and is the only place of its kind in Australia. The workshop continues to push the boundaries of contemporary tapestry beyond the visual arts sector, and this new award - spanning art, architecture and design - reflects that.”

"Collaborations across artforms and disciplines are integral to the future growth of Victoria's creative industries and will be a focus of Victoria's first Creative Industries Strategy, for which the public consultations are underway now."

There were joint First Prize winners: John Wardle Architects for Perspective on a Flat Surface and Kristin Green and Michelle Hamer (KGA Architecture) for Long Term Parking. The judges’ decision to award an equal first prize highlighted the strength of the entries, particularly the joint winners. No second prize was awarded; however, a third prize went to Peter Elliott Architecture and Urban Design. Laura Mrtires of Index Architecture received the People’s Choice Award.

The John Wardle Architects concept was a vision of colour and light designed for two walls with the tapestry panels at right angles to each other. The design included a touch of humour, with a ball of yarn positioned on the floor at the edge of the tapestry. KGA Architecture’s design embraced a juxtaposition of people, a building, a flower and trees in black and white with accents of colour.

The judging panel comprised: Professor Kay Lawrence AM (South Australia) as chair; architects Brian Zulaikha and Hannah Tribe (New South Wales); gallery director Jason Smith (Queensland); Leon van Schaik AO, Innovation Professor of Architecture at RMIT University; and photographer John Gollings (Victoria).

The Tapestry Design Prize for Architects is an initiative of the Australian Tapestry Workshop, the Tapestry Foundation of Australia and Creative Partnerships Australia in partnership with Architecture Media, and Stylecraft.

The short-listed entries can be viewed at the Australian Tapestry Workshop, 262-266 Park Street, South Melbourne until 26 July. The exhibition will then travel to Sydney where it will be on display at the Stylecraft showroom at 223-225 Liverpool Street, Darlinghurst for a limited period.

Since it was founded in 1976, the ATW has created more than 500 tapestries, which appear in venues across the world including some of Australia’s most important institutions – Parliament House Canberra, the National Portrait Gallery, Sydney Opera House, the National Gallery of Victoria, and the Australian War Memorial. The Australian Tapestry Workshop also promotes and teaches the art of contemporary tapestry through public programs, exhibitions and other outreach activities.

Media contact for further comment:
Antonia Syme 0448 714 441

For high resolution images contact:
Giselle Versteegn 03 9699 7885

Images left to right: Perspectives on a Flat Surface by John Wardle Architects, Long Term Parking by KGA Architecture (Kristin Green) & Michelle Hamer

Back to news