Press Releases

2016 Tapestry Design Prize for Architects: Entries now open!


The Australian Tapestry Workshop launches the inaugural ATW Tapestry Design Prize for Architects to be awarded in 2016.

The prize invites architects to design a tapestry for a hypothetical site, which for the 2016 Prize is the Col Madigan designed National Gallery of Australia in Canberra.

Peter Williams, chairman of Australian Tapestry Workshop and founding director of Williams Boag Architects, calls on architects to consider the long-standing relationship between textile art and architecture and the ways tapestry can play an intrinsic part in defining space.

"This competition aims to promote and reinvigorate the connection between architectural built-form and textile art. By building an awareness of tapestry as a relevant medium that sits comfortably within the materiality of contemporary architectural thinking, it provides another tool that architects can draw on to craft spaces to inhabit and uplift the soul created in this increasingly complex and challenging world” said Williams.

The inaugural Prize was first awarded in 2015 to joint winners: John Wardle Architects for Perspective on a Flat Surface and Kristin Green (KGA Architecture) and Michelle Hamer for Long Term Parking.

The second design competition for architects in 2016 will build further and deeper connection with architects and their spatial interpretation.

Entrants may submit up to three designs that potentially enhance the experience of architectural space through contemporary tapestry. The competition also encourages entrants to consider the emergence of new materials and technologies in their tapestry designs.

The competition is open until 26 June 2016. Finalists will be announced in July and the shortlisted designs will be on show in an exhibition from August 30 when the overall winner will be announced. The rewards range from $5,000 first prize to $1,000 People’s Choice.

Judges for the 2016 Tapestry Design Prize for Architects are: Professor Kay Lawrence AM, John Denton AO, Brian Zulhaikha, Julie Ewington, Kieran Wong and Alice Hampson.

Further information and details on how to enter the 2016 Tapestry Design Prize for Architects can be found at

Image: The National Gallery of Australia. Photo by John Gollings.

Back to news