The Australian Tapestry Workshop and the Tapestry Foundation of Australia, in partnership with Architecture Media and Denton Corker Marshall are proud to announce the short list in the inaugural 2015 ATW Tapestry Design Prize for Architects.

This prestigious new prize invited architects to use their knowledge and skills to create a tapestry design for a specific location. The hypothetical site as context for the tapestry design is the Denton Corker Marshall designed Australian Pavilion in the Giardini in Venice.

The selection panel were chaired by Professor Kay Lawrence AM (SA), with other members Professor Leon van Schaik AO (VIC), Mr Brian Zulaikha (NSW), Ms Hannah Tribe (NSW), Mr John Gollings (VIC), Mr Jason Smith (QLD).

2015 ATW Tapestry Design Prize for Architects Judging Panel Chair, Professor Kay Lawrence AM said the panel were delighted to see how architects responded to this unique challenge. The selection process was challenging given the quality and diversity of the designs. The panel selected:

Attiwill Lee Penn Scott

Jonathan Donnelly

Index Architecture (Laura Martires)

Lucy Irvine, Robyn Creagh & Mark Robertson

John Wardle Architects

Kennedy Nolan

KGA Architecture (Kristin Green) & Michelle Hamer

Muir Mendes (Amy Muir)

Multiplicity in collaboration with Meinphoto

Ainslie Murray & panovscott

Owen and Vokes and Peters with The Letter D

Peter Elliott Architecture and Urban Design

The winner will be announced at the opening of the exhibition of the designs on Friday 25th June at the Australian tapestry Workshop in South Melbourne.

Back to news