2016 Tapestry Design Prize for Architects Finalists


The Australian Tapestry Workshop announces the 13 finalists for the 2016 Tapestry Design Prize for
Architects that includes a prize pool of $10,000.The prize invites architects to design a tapestry for a hypothetical site, which for the 2016 Prize is the Col Madigan designed National Gallery of Australia in Canberra.

• Andrew Foster and Jessica Kreps – Black Hole / Hole in the Wall

• Bec O’Brien – Sea-m

• Beth George, Emerald Wise and Kate Fitzgerald – Ten Deserts

• Tiffany Liew – Unknown: Author(s)

• Cooper Freeman (Stephanie Cooper and Tynan Freeman) – Fabricated Dialogues

• Eugene Cheah Architecture (Eugene Cheah and Joanne Saw) – (Un)Veiling

• Jemmott – 98% of everything that is built and designed today is pure shit

• JoyJoy – Meditullium (Deintus) – Heartland (From Within)

• Justin Hill – 22 Temenggong Road, Twilight

• Misho + Associates – Breathe 42 16’12.00” S 145 49’12.00” E

• NH Architecture – Celestial Shift

• NH Architecture – ReCollections

• Sarah Lake Architects – Concrete Tapestry

Antonia Syme, Director of the Australian Tapestry Workshop (ATW), said “As part of our fortiethanniversary celebrations, we are pleased to present the second year of this prize for architects that attracted 76 entries from across Australia and internationally who entered a tapestry concept for the hypothetical site at the National Gallery of Australia in Canberra designed by architect Colin Madigan and opened in 1982, and extended by Andrew Andersons in 2010.”

“There is a long-standing historical connection between architectural space and tapestries. The Tapestry Design Prize for Architects is a platform to strengthen this connection between architects and the tapestry weaving practice,” said Syme.

“In Australia, the ATW has created tapestries for large scale architectural spaces and collaborated with Aldo Guirgola of MGT and Arthur Boyd to deliver the Boyd monumental tapestry Untitled (Shoalhaven Landscape) for Parliament House in Canberra and with Jorn Utzon to realise his tapestry Homage to CPE Bach for the Utzon Room at the Sydney Opera House,” explained Syme. The inaugural 2015 Tapestry Design Prize for Architects responded to the hypothetical site of the Australian Pavilion in Venice designed by Denton Corker Marshall. Last years inaugural joint winner of the prize, John Wardle Architects, is fortunate to have the winning concept Perspective on a Flat Surface currently being realised on the loom at the ATW.

Judges for the 2016 Tapestry Design Prize for Architects include Professor Kay Lawrence AM – Emeritus Professor, School of Art, Architecture and Design, University of South Australia; John Denton AO – Adjunct Professor of Architecture, Monash University and Director, Denton Corker Marshall; Kieran Wong – Founderand Director, CODA; Alice Hampson – Contributing Editor for Architecture Media and Owner of AliceHampson Architect; Julie Ewington – Curator and Arts Writer; and Brian Zulaikha – Director, Tonkin ZulaikhaGreer Architects.

The winning design and prize recipients will be selected on the basis of artistic merit; ability to engage to ahigh degree with the unique qualities of tapestry; ability to design a major artwork that responds to a contemporary architectural space; and capacity to celebrate tapestry in architecture, through understandingof materials form, design and collaborative interpretation.

The 2016 Tapestry Design Prize for Architects exhibition opening and announcement of prize recipients willbe held on Tuesday, 30 August 2016 at the Australian Tapestry Workshop in South Melbourne. The Australian Tapestry Workshop presents the Tapestry Design Prize for Architects in partnership with Architecture Media, the Tapestry Foundation of Australia and the National Gallery of Australia.

2016 Tapestry Design Prize for Architects
Prize recipient announcement Tuesday, 30 August 2016
Exhibition 30 August – 21 October 2016 (Tue – Fri 10am – 5pm)
Location Australian Tapestry Workshop
Address 262-266 Park Street, South Melbourne

Back to news