ATW Board of Directors


John Ridley AM, Chairman

John Ridley is the Company Founder and Principal of Clifton Consulting Services. He is also a Board Member of the Melbourne International Comedy Festival, Chairman of the Melbourne Forum, and Communications and Stakeholder Relations Manager for AquaSure. He has been engaged in a range of community organisations and activities from president of the national student union in his university days, a local government councillor, the boards of the Children’s Protection Society, and Zoo Board of Victoria.

Mr Ridley is the Chairman of the Board, member of the Finance and Audit Committee and the Business Development & Marketing Committee.


Pro Vice Chancellor Su Baker AM

BFA, Grad Dip Ed, PGradDipVisArt, DCA

Pro-Vice Chancellor Engagement, Professor of Art of the Victorian College of the Arts (VCA); President of the Australian Council of Deans and Directors of Creative Arts (DDCA); Editor in Chief of Art and Australia; leading arts academic, writer and artist. As an artist Su Baker has exhibited nationally over the last 30 years in public and commercial galleries, including numerous solo and selected group exhibitions and national survey shows.   

Prof Baker is a member of the Business Development & Marketing Committee.


Peter Bancroft OAM

Founding Director and former CEO of The Treasury Group Ltd, former Managing Director of Stikki Products, former CEO of Paper Technology International . Former President of the Victorian Licenced Restaurant Association, Vice President of the Federal Licenced Restaurant Association, Board of International Specialised Skills Institute & Former owner of a number of restaurants.

Mr Bancroft is Chair of the Business Development & Marketing Committee and is a member of the Finance and Audit Committee.


Matt Biernat

B.Comm(Acc), B.IT, Member Chartered Accountants Australia & New Zealand, Certified Information Systems Auditor

Matt Biernat is a Director in EY Melbourne. He has extensive experience in providing assurance and advisory services to both large ASX listed and private clients, across a diversity of industries in Australia and globally. He also has experience across the not-for-profit sector through his work with various charity and non-government organisations.

Mr Biernat is the Finance Director, and Chair of the Finance and Audit Committee and a member of the Business Development & Marketing Committee.


Karl Fender OAM

M.Arch, LFRAIA, Hon. AIA, Hon. RAIC, Hon. FKIA, Chapter President RAIA VIC 2008-2010, National President RAIA 2010-2011

Founding director and current managing director of Fender Katsalidis Architects (FKA). FKA’s major works include MONA, Sydney Myer Asia Centre, the Walsh House and UTAS (Tasmania), Eureka Tower, Republic Tower, Ian Potter Museum of Art, Bendigo Art Gallery, Garangula Gallery, Levantine Hill Estate, and Hotel Hotel (ACT).  Chairman for the Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitats Awards Jury, Karl has served as both national and state president of the Australian Institute of Architects, a Venice Biennale Committee member, and has sat on design review panels for state governments.

Mr Fender is a member of the Business Development & Marketing Committee.


Emeritus Professor Kay Lawrence AM

Dip T (Art), Postgraduate year of study at Tapestry Studios Edinburgh College of Art

Professor of Visual Art and Head of South Australian School of Art; Former President, Craft Australia; Former National Executive, ACUADS Australian Council of Art and Design Schools; artist and curator.

Prof Lawrence is a member of the Business Development & Marketing Committee.


Bob Nation AM

Dip Arch, M Architecture, LFRAIA  Hon AIA (USA) Hon RAIC,Hon NZIA, Hon HKIA.

Design director Barangaroo; Design Principal Nation Architects; he has had extensive international experience over 40 years on major projects, and has been on a number of industry boards and competition juries and won major design submissions in australia and internationally.

Mr Nation is a member of the Business Development & Marketing Committee.


Lisa Newcombe


Current partner and National Practice Group Leader at Lander & Rogers Lawyers.

Former board member Lander & Rogers Lawyers and former member of Cairnmillar Institute Ethics Committee.

Recognised in the current edition of Best Lawyers (Australia) for her expertise in the areas of  Insurance law, Litigation and Medical Indemnity and in the current edition of Doyle's Guide as a pre-eminent lawyer in the areas of Professional Indemnity and Medical Negligence and a leading lawyer in the field of Public Liability

Ms Newcombe is a member of the Finance and Audit Committee and the Business Development & Marketing Committee.


Lynn Rainbow Reid AM

Lynn Rainbow Reid is well known for her strong involvement in television and performance arts, social causes, and her experience in fundraising. Lynn is Founding Trustee of the Queensland Museum Foundation, former member of the Vice Chancellor’s Advisory Board for the Cultural Precinct at Queensland University, and has created and chairs the Rainbow Reid Endowment for an Artist in Residence at QUT Acting.

Ms Rainbow Reid is a member of the Business Development & Marketing Committee.

Antonia Syme

Antonia Syme is the Director of the Australian Tapestry Workshop. She has worked for many years in the arts and cultural sector as a director, consultant, conservator and curator. She is Director of Syme Dodson Consulting and was Director of Artbank for over 10 years. Her experience has spanned both the private and public sector, in Australian cultural institutions and as Co-Director of the Syme Dodson Gallery in Sydney. Antonia was the Chair of Craft Australia from 2009 to 2011 and was on the Board from 2007. Board and committee memberships include the NSW National Trust's Museums and Collections Committee, the Federal Government's Taxation Incentives for the Arts Committee, the Heritage Council (NSW) Maritime Archaeological Advisory Panel, the Sydney College of the Arts Board and the Camden Park Preservation Committee.

Ms Syme is Company Secratary and a member of the Business Development & Marketing Committee.