262-266 Park Street, South Melbourne, Victoria.
The Workshop occupies a National Trust heritage listed building in South Melbourne. Erected in 1885 as the drapery establishment, Harcourt and Parry Emporium, the building was later adapted for use as Patross Knitting Mills.
In 1976, when the Australian Tapestry Workshop was established, the building was dark and dingy. Today, with its original high, sawtooth ceiling, it is bathed with abundant southern light that creates a perfect environment for a tapestry studio.
With its elegant cast iron columns supporting the roof and the elaborate parapet and squat central tower that rise above the building, it is one of the finest commercial buildings of the 1880s in inner suburban Melbourne and a distinctive example of Victorian Free Gothic architecture in the state of Victoria.